Taite Prize Music Finalists Announced


Independent Music NZ (IMNZ) has just announced the finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2019. The Taite Music Prize adds an extra element this year, with a new Independent Spirit Award and a venue move to Auckland’s Q Theatre for the Taite Music Prize award ceremony on Tuesday 16th April 2019.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected music journalists, the award recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording. The prize-winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000 to be spent as they wish, thanks to Taite Music Prize founding partner Recorded Music NZ; recording time at Red Bull Studios Auckland; and a year’s supply of Red Bull product.

This year’s ten finalists are:

Alien Weaponry – Tū  (Napalm Records)
Avantdale Bowling Club  – Avantdale Bowling Club (Years Gone By)
Jonathan Bree – Sleepwalking (Lil’ Chief Records)
Julia Deans – We Light Fire (Tigerhorse)
Marlon Williams – Make Way For Love (Marlon Williams Music Limited)
Mel Parsons – Glass Heart (Cape Road)
Tami Neilson – SASSAFRASS! (Neilson Records)
The Beths – Future Me Hates Me (Dew Process / Carpark)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Sex & Food (Jagjaguwar)
Wax Chattels – Wax Chattels (Flying Nun Records)

Alongside the main prize, three additional awards will be presented at the ceremony: the Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award, the newly created Independent Spirit Award, awarded to a New Zealand person who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways, and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award, celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives a $2,000 cash prize with thanks to Auckland Live.

Good Luck to all the contenders.

(Photo of Dylan Taite courtesy of Audioculture)