Aldous Harding wins 2019 Silver Scroll Award

Aldous Harding’s track ‘The Barrel’ was named winner of the 2019 APRA Silver Scroll Award at Vector Arena last night, taking out the prize ahead of nominees, Tiny Ruins, Avantdale Bowling Club, The Beths and Bene.

‘The Barrel’ was the first single off Harding's third highly acclaimed album, Designer, released earlier this year.

Former Supergroove member Karl Steven won the award for Best Original Music in a Series for his score on crime drama The Bad Seed. The Maioha Award went to Tyna Keelan, Angelique Te Rauna and Matauranga Te Rauna for their waiata Ka Ao, Michael Norris collected the SOUNZ Contemporary Award for his Sama Violin Concerto while Mike Newport won Best Original Music in a Feature Film for his work on the sci-fi comedy flick Mega Time Squad.

Ruru Karaitiana, Pixie Williams, and Jim Carter were inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame for the beautifully crafted song Blue Smoke, which was the first-ever song recorded, manufactured and released in New Zealand.

Jonathan Crayford and Nathan Haines offered up inspired arrangements and musical direction with their collaborative renditions of artists’ songs, finishing off with a psychedelic, but fitting end to the evening, Corben Simpson singing Blerta’s ‘Dance Around The World’ accompanied by Auckland Youth Choir.