Death Cab For Cutie Release New Single 'Gold Rush', Announce Album

Death Cab for Cutie has announced the release of their ninth studio album; Thank You For Today to be released on August 17.

The first single, ‘Gold Rush’, has been released at the same time and is accompanied by an  video. The video for ‘Gold Rush’, directed by Alex Southam (alt-J, Mumford & Sons), features frontman Ben Gibbard performing the song amidst an increasingly crowded cityscape.

The album was produced and mixed by Rich Costey (Fiona Apple, Franz Ferdinand, Muse), who also produced the band’s last album Kintsugi. TYFT marks the first Death Cab for Cutie release to see long time bandmates Gibbard, Nick Harmer, and Jason McGerr joined in the studio by new members Dave Depper and Zac Rae. Depper and Rae have both been part of Death Cab’s touring band since 2015.