Pacific Talent honoured at 2018 Pacific Music Awards

The annual Vodafone Pacific Music Awards took place last night at Sir Woolf Fisher Arena Vodafone Events Centre in Manukau.

Ladi 6 took home three awards including Best Female Artist, Best Album and Best Producer, which was awarded to Parks, Brandon Haru and Julien Dyne for their work on the Royal Blue 3000 EP.

12-year-old sensation General Fiyah won the People's Choice Award and Best Song for his 2017 hit 'Here To Stay'. Best Video went to Samson Rambo. the director of the 'Here To Stay' video.

Berlin-based kiwi  Noah Slee picked up Best Male Artist and Best Urban Artist, while local reggae group Tomorrow People won Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Group, plus Sunpix Best Pacific Language for their songs ‘Lock Me Up’ and ‘Sa’ili Le Alofa’.

Kings took home the NZ On Air Streaming Award for his song ‘We’ll Never Know’, while Brooke Fraser gained the NZ On Air Radio Airplay award for her song ‘Therapy’.

The Special Recognition Award went to the Otara Music & Arts Centre (OMAC) for outstanding achievement and service to the community. Operating for 30 years, OMAC has been a supportive launching pad for many Pacific artists including Che Fu, King Kapisi, Ardijah, Savage and Pauly Fuemana.


Best Pacific Female Artist Award:
WINNER: Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP 

NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist Award:
WINNER: Noah Slee – Otherland

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Urban Artist Award:
WINNER: Noah Slee – Otherland

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Group Award:
WINNER: Tomorrow People – ‘Lock Me Up’ 

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video Award:
WINNER: Samson Rambo – ‘Here To Stay’ (General Fiyah)

APRA Best Pacific Song Award:
WINNER: General Fiyah – ‘Here To Stay’ (Written by: Charlie Pome'e & Nicholas Pome'e)

SunPix Best Pacific Language Award:
WINNER: Tomorrow People – ‘Sa’ili Le Alofa’ 

Auckland Council Best Pacific Gospel Artist Award:
WINNER: EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa'afetai Le Atua

Flava Best International Pacific Artist Award:
WINNER: Tenelle – For the Lovers

Recorded Music NZ Best Pacific Music Album Award:
WINNER: Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP

SIT/MAINZ Best Producer Award: 
WINNER: Parks, Brandan Haru & Julien Dyne – Royal Blue 3000 EP (Ladi 6) 

Vodafone People’s Choice Award:
WINNER:  General Fiyah

NZ On Air Radio Airplay Award
WINNER: Brooke Fraser – ‘Therapy’

NZ On Air Streaming Award
WINNER: Kings – ‘We’ll Never Know’

Phillip Fuemana Award – Most Promising Pacific Artist:
WINNER: Poetik

Special Recognition Award – Outstanding Achievement:
WINNER: Otara Music & Arts Centre (OMAC) 

Manukau Institute of Technology Lifetime Achievement Award
WINNER: Punialava’a