Internationally celebrated heavy rock icons Mastodon will release a new EP featuring four previously unreleased tracks on September 22nd.

Cold Dark Place will be released digitally and on CD, followed by a limited-edition 10” vinyl picture disc on October 27.   

Three of the tracks, ‘North Side Star,’ ‘Blue Walsh,’ and ‘Cold Dark Place,’ were recorded during the sessions for Mastodon’s 2014 album Once More 'Round The Sun and were produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Deftones, Rise Against). A fourth track, ‘Toe to Toes,’ was recorded during the sessions for the band’s most recent album, 2016’s Emperor of Sand, and was produced by Brendan O’Brien (Pearl Jam, Soundgarden).

Mastodon also recently featured on the season finale of HBO’s Game of Thrones. Band members Brann Dailor, Bill Kelliher, and Brent Hinds portrayed White Walkers in the final episode of the season, ‘The Dragon and the Wolf’