The Clean to join NZ Music Hall of Fame

Seminal Dunedin band and Flying Nun stalwarts The Clean will be inducted into the NZ Music Hall Of Fame at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards in Dunedin on 28th September 2017.

The band’s members include guitarist Kilgour, his brother - drummer Hamish Kilgour, and bassist Robert Scott. 

Inspired by obscure sixties garage and psychedelic bands, as well as the punk revolution of the 1970s, The Clean helped introduce New Zealand to what would later become known as ‘The Dunedin Sound’ - a sound that would influence music and culture in NZ - and beyond - for decades to come.

The Clean made it onto US college radio in the 1980s; won over an enduring fan base in Australia, the UK and Europe; and influenced generations of NZ musicians and fans.

All members of the band have created musical lives for themselves in various different incarnations and The Clean still tour the world today.