New Sneaky Feelings Album 'Progress Junction'

A brand new Sneaky Feelings album is out this Friday (September 1) on CD and digitally via Flying Nun Records.

It's nearly thirty years since their last release and has seen the legendary Dunedin four piece get back together for a few shows around NZ as well.

Sneaky Feelings, one of the original Dunedin Sound bands formed in the early 1980s return with a brand-new album of original songs.

Drawn to a wider variety of musical styles than most early Flying Nun bands, they were one of the first to experiment in the recording studio. All four members write songs, and while the band may have not played much over the years, the individual members have continued to hone their songwriting skills. 

The twelve songs on Progress Junction were recorded over two years in bass player John Kelcher’s Christchurch studio.  As the band put the album together they experimented by weaving in snippets of audio from New Zealand radio archives. Voices from the past started talking to the present. 

When Kelcher found a photo of four hard-living West Coast miners from the 1940s staring straight at the camera, the band knew it had to be the cover. 

Sneaky Feelings play The Others Way Festival in Auckland on September 1