2017 Jazz Award Winners announced at Wellington Jazz Festival

The Recorded Music NZ Best Jazz Album and APRA Best Jazz Composition for 2017 were awarded as part of the Wellington Jazz Festival last night and recognised the work of two Kiwi jazz greats.

Jonathan Crayford was awarded Best Jazz Album for East West Moon and the Best Jazz Composition was awarded to Callum Allardice for Deep Thought.

After learning to play the piano at three years old, Jonathan Crayford pursued a career as a jazz musician and continues to score films, craft compositions and release pieces of work like East West Moon.

The seven tracks that make up East West Moon prove Crayford is still a powerhouse of creativity and a strong figure within the jazz world, both at home and globally.

For crafting Deep Thought, Motueka-native Callum Allardice has been acknowledged with the 2017 APRA Best Jazz Composition Award. This is the second time Callum has received the award, after earning it in 2016 for his composition Sons of Thunder.

The song is performed by Antipodes, a creative contemporary jazz sextet playing works by Callum, long-time collaborator Jake Baxendale and Australian pianist and composer, Luke Sweeting.

Other finalists for the Recorded Music NZ Best Jazz Album were Myele Manzanza for OnePointOne and the Mike Nock Trio & NZ Trio for Vicissitudes.

Bruce Brown for It’s A Good Time (To Be A Man), and Jasmine Lovell-Smith for Familia were the remaining finalists for the APRA Best Jazz Composition.

The awards were announced at the Wellington Jazz Festival, which ran from Wednesday 7 through to Sunday 11 June, and featured hundreds of local and international jazz performers throughout the week.