Luckless Announce New Album And Tour


After two years on the road, touring throughout New Zealand, Luckless is releasing their sophomore album ‘Vindication Blues’ on July 11th.

The ever-evolving project of songwriter Ivy Rossiter, Luckless' captivating lyrics, fierce guitars and propulsive drums, conjure a milieu of sound and emotion unique in New Zealand’s musical landscape today.

Displacement and disillusion feature prominently throughout Vindication Blues; heartbreak, and a move from the grey city of Auckland to the quake-stricken town of Lyttelton, provided Rossiter with plenty of inspiration.  A winter, and many bottles of whiskey later, Luckless took her new songs to co-producer and engineer Ben Edwards at The Sitting Room, where the 11 track album was recorded, then mixed by Olly Harmer at The Lab and mastered by Angus McNaughton.

For the ‘Vindication Blues’ tour, Rossiter and returning drummer, Logan Compain are joined by Rob Collins on bass (Dictaphone Blues, Heavy Jones Trio) and Ben Eldridge on guitar (Warlords Of Atlantis, Heavy Jones Trio).  This tour will be the only chance to experience Luckless as a glorious four-piece, the band’s most exciting and sophisticated incarnation to date.

Luckless Tour Dates:

Friday 11 July – The Wunderbar, Lyttelton, Christchurch with Salad Boys
Saturday 12 July – Chick’s Hotel, Port Chalmers, Dunedin with Shifting Sands
Friday 18 July – San Fran, Wellington with support TBC
Saturday 19 July – The Wine Cellar, Auckland with Grand Rapids & Tourettes (spoken word set)