Miho Wada hits the road with new album

Jazz-flute-ninja Miho Wada is excited to announce the release of her new studio album Bumpy Road – out October 9th.

Entirely in synch with Miho's Jazz Orchestra's fun-loving energy and humour, Bumpy Road was written while touring during Miho’s pregnancy and recorded during the lead up to the baby's arrival.  The ultimate tour diary to motherhood, Bumpy Road introduces world music elements to Miho’s more familiar J-pop style jazz compositions.

Combining the skilled musicianship of Miho's Jazz Orchestra band members with the expert craftsmanship of studio engineer Olly Harmer, Bumpy Road captures the dynamic mood swings of the emotional pregnancy rollercoaster.  Sprinkled with mystery and uncertainty about changes to come, this album blends the warmth and authenticity of MJO's powerful live performance with the excitement, joy and anticipation surrounding the genesis of a new life.

Following the successful release of MJO's live album MJO Live @ The Lab (2014), Bumpy Road was recorded live at The Lab Recording Studios in Auckland, marking the sixth release for Miho’s Jazz Orchestra since their formation in 2011.  Their most recent studio album Mystery Banana (2014) reached #13 on the New Zealand Album Charts.  2014 also saw Miho tour Japan with MJO and record her EP side project Memphis Dreamin' (2014) at the legendary Sun Studio in Memphis, Tennessee.

Miho’s Jazz Orchestra has a national tour planned in October/November with Arts on Tour. Bumpy Road will be available for purchase at all good digital outlets and physically at upcoming shows.


Album Launch:

Sun 11th October 2015, Pt Chevalier RSA, Pt Chevalier, Auckland


Arts on Tour:

Thurs 29th October 2015 - Hokianga

Fri 30th October 2015 - Whangarei

Sat 31st October 2015 - Uxbridge

Sun 1st November 2015 - Coromandel

Tue 3rd November 2015 - Kauaeranga Hall

Wed 4th November 2015 - Whitianga

Fri 6th November 2015 - Opotiki

Sat 7th November 2015 – Gisborne

Sun 8th November 2015 Art Doc Gallery – Bennydale

Tue 10th November 2015 - New Plymouth

Thurs 12th November 2015 - Blenheim

Fri 13th November 2015 The Playhouse - Mapua

Sat 14th November 2015 Mussel Inn - Takaka

Sun 15th November 2015 - Reefton

Tue 17th November 2015 - Barrytown

Wed 18th November 2015 - Hokitika

Thurs 19th November 2015 - Fox Glacier

Fri 20th November 2015 - Cromwell

Sat 21th November 2015 - Queenstown

Sun 22th November 2015 - Owaka

Wed 25th November 2015 - Gore

Thurs 26th November 2015 - Dunedin

Fri 27th November 2015 - Oamaru

Sat 28th November 2015 - Darfield

Sun 29th November 2015 – Balcairn